Danuta Gleed

The Danuta Gleed Literary Award for best first collection of short fiction in the English language was initiated by John Gleed in honour of his late wife to promote and celebrate the genre of short fiction, which she loved.

A $10,000 prize will be awarded to a Canadian writer, for the best first collection of published short fiction in the English language. Two finalist will also be awarded $500 each.

Submissions must meet the eligibility requirements outlined in the submission guidelines, and be received with the submission form and other required materials. Completed submissions should be sent to:

The Danuta Gleed Award
The Writers’ Union of Canada
600-460 Richmond St. W.
Toronto, ON  M5V 1Y1

The deadline for submissions is February 1, 2016.

Danuta Gleed had her first collection of short stories, One of the Chosen, posthumously published by BuschekBooks in 1997. All royalties from sales of her book will go to the award (copies can be purchased through the Union office for $18.50 — includes postage, handling & HST. Please send cheque or money order to:

The Writers' Union of Canada
600-460 Richmond St. W.
Toronto, ON  M5V 1Y1

Latest News:

Jury Announced and Call for Submissions Issued for the 19th Annual Danuta Gleed Literary Award

Latest Winner

2014 Award Winner: Rivka Galchen’s for American Innovations

Previous Winners