Conference & AGM

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING


Join us for The Writers' Union of Canada’s 2021 Annual General Meeting and Post-AGM Social! All members are encouraged to register and attend. Please note registration has now closed

Please note:

  • These events are open to current TWUC members only.
  • There is no cost to attend, but registration is required.
  • You must register separately for each event (AGM and Post-AGM Social).
  • Registration deadline: May 25, 2021.

The AGM is your chance to get a big-picture portrait of Union activities and priorities, to hear about the work of your National Council, and to participate in our representative democracy. The meeting will begin with a keynote presentation from Access Copyright’s Chief Business Affairs Officer Claire Gillis (30 min) on Access Copyright’s tariff and legal proceedings and recent advocacy initiatives, followed by our Union business session (90 min). Reports are sent to members with their confirmation of registration to provide time to review the materials and submit any questions in advance (deadline: May 25, 2021).

After the business is wrapped up, log on to the Post-AGM Social to network and socialize with fellow members from across the country. Members can choose from the following breakout rooms:

  • Meet the Chair, hosted by Rhea Tregebov
  • Meet Your Regional Rep, hosted by Regional Reps
  • New Members Room (for members who have joined since the last AGM), hosted by John Degen
  • TWUC Dance Party, hosted by Heather Wood

TECH TIP: Members using the latest version of Zoom will be able to move between breakout rooms at the Post-AGM Social. More details will be shared closer to the date with those who have registered. Get details about how to update Zoom on your device.  

Notice of Motions

Members have the opportunity to review any motions received by the office by the notice of motion deadline (March 29, 2021). The deadline for members to submit comments about motions, to be forwarded to National Council for their consideration in advance of the AGM, was May 3, 2021. See Notice of Motions.

Registration

Registration for the AGM and Post-AGM Social has now closed. The event information below is for reference only.

PLEASE NOTE: Your AGM and Post-AGM Social join links will be sent automatically to the email address you enter when registering. Please ensure you have entered the correct email address. If you use multiple addresses, please make note of which address you have entered so you are able to retrieve your join links on May 28.

TWUC Annual General Meeting
Friday, May 28, 2021
10 am PDT / 11 am MDT, CST / 12 pm CDT / 1 pm EDT / 2 pm ADT / 2:30 pm NDT
Length: 2 hours
Hosted on Zoom 

TWUC Post-AGM Social
Friday, May 28, 2021
12:15 pm PDT / 1:15 pm MDT, CST / 2:15 pm CDT / 3:15 pm EDT / 4:15 pm ADT / 4:45 pm NDT
Length: 30 min
Hosted on Zoom 

See you online!