Member Announcements

Members' Activity

In light of Roe v Wade overturning, Hem Press is hosting a poetry reading to fundraise for Planned Parenthood. Our readers will be Amanda Earl, Nikki Dudley, Briony Hughes and JP Seabright. Wednesday, June 29, 2022 3pm EST, 8pm UK All ticket sales (not including Eventbrite's fee) will go to Planned... More

Literary Reading or Event

I'm happy to announce that I will be doing an in-person poetry reading - my first in over two years - next Wednesday, June 29th at 7pm.  This is the inaugural reading of the milk magazine poetry Series, curated by Larry Sawyer, at Type Books, 883 Queen Street West. I will be sharing the stage with... More

Literary Reading or Event (Virtual Event)

Since I'm releasing two new books this spring, I'm giving away twice the prizes: two copies of each book, two bookstore gift certificates, and two author visits to teachers. (See details below.) It's been wonderful to connect with readers from all kinds of locations and settings—-schools, libraries... More

Members' Activity

Lori Hahnel (Calgary) has won the 2022 Short Story Collection Award in the Alberta Literary Awards for her collection Vermin: Stories, published by Enfield & Wizenty.  More

Literary Reading or Event

SAVE THE DATE: Tuesday, June 28, 2022. Dear Friends, I will be reading from Climbing the Rain for about 10 minutes with several others in the Lost Launches series for poets whose books came out during the lockdowns and were unable to have a live launch. This is a joint venture of the City of... More

Literary Reading or Event (Virtual Event)

Join the JPL Youth Space for the launch of You Are My Favorite Color! About this event Come celebrate the launch of You Are My Favorite Color (a picture book) on Zoom! Author Gillian Sze and illustrator Nina Mata will be in attendance to do a live reading, give a drawing demonstration, and discuss... More

New Publication

From the publisher's website: https://www.penguinrandomhouse.ca/books/634033/you-are-my-favorite-color...   A lyrical story of parental love that celebrates and takes pride in the many shades of brown skin. Perfect for fans of I Am Enough, Hey Black Child, Hair Love, and Our Skin. When you ask me... More

Members' Activity

The Indigo Chapters store in Kingston is having me back on June 18th from 11:00 to 16:00 for another book signing. Come on in and have your copy signed and embossed or pick one up. "Yard Up For Sure!" More

New Publication

My second book of poems, Nuclear Family, was published by McGill-Queen's University Press in April, 2022, as part of the Hugh MacLennan Poetry Series. Rooted in memory and history, it carries the reader into the sense of impending nuclear doom and the explosions of material wealth that shaped my... More

Literary Reading or Event

The former Catholic priest returns to the Masonic Hall and one of his favourite 2019 Soar, Adam, Soar tour events More

Pages