Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Trevor Ferguson

Trevor Ferguson

Trevor Ferguson was born in Ontario and raised in Montreal. After travelling hither and yon, he settled back in Montreal to write novels. He served as Chair of The Writers' Union of Canada in 1990-91. His novel, The Timekeeper, became a motion picture. In addition to his sixteen novels, he has had four plays produced, including Off Broadway. He has been published around the world in more than seventeen countries. He currently lives in Victoria, BC.


c/o Writers' Union of Canada
Literary. Crime.
I write professionally in the following language(s):


High Water Chants. 1977, Macmillan
Onyx John. 1985, McClelland & Stewart
The Kinkajou. 1989, Macmillan
The True Life Adventures of Sparrow Drinkwater. 1993, HarperCollins
The Fire Line. 1995, HarperCollins
The Timekeeper. 1995, HarperCollins
City of Ice (pseudonym John Farrow). 1999, HarperCollins CA, Random House US
Ice Lake (pseudonym John Farrow). 2001, HarperCollins CA, Random House US
River City (pseudonym John Farrow). 2011, HarperCollins
The River Burns. 2014, Simon & Schuster
The Storm Murders (pseudonym John Farrow). 2015, Minotaur, St. Martin's Press
Seven Days Dead (pseudonym John Farrow). 2016, Minotaur, St. Martin's Press
Perish The Day (pseudonym John Farrow). 2017, Minotaur, St. Martin's Press
Ball Park (pseudonym John Farrow). 2019, Canongate, Severn House
Roar Back (pseudonym John Farrow). 2020, Canongate, Severn House
Lady Jail (pseudonym John Farrow). 2021, Canongate, Severn House
Long, Long, Short, Long: Drama. 2006, La Pleine Lune
A Patient Death. 2022 (Fall), Exile Editions


Hugh MacLennan Prize for Literature for The Timekeeper, 1995
Eligible for National Public Readings Program: