Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Amanda Jernigan

Photo: John Haney 2018

Amanda Jernigan’s poetry has been described as ‘a precise and loving negotiation with the archetypes, on behalf of the mortal’. She is the author of three books of poems, Groundwork, All the Daylight Hours, and Years, Months, and Days — the first of these named a best book of the year on NPR and shortlisted for the Pat Lowther Award of the League of Canadian Poets, the last of these named a best book of the year in The New York Times. She is also the author of the chapbook The Temple, and of a short prose book, Living in the Orchard: The Poetry of Peter Sanger. Amanda’s poems have been widely published in periodicals, in Canada, the U.S., and the U.K., and have been set to music, most recently by composers Zachary Wadsworth and Colin Labadie. She is an essayist and editor as well as a poet, and has written for the stage. She works as a professor of creative writing and English literature at Saint Mary’s University in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

E-mail: c/o Writers' Union of Canada
Phone number:
c/o Writers' Union of Canada


Years, Months, and Days. Biblioasis, 2018
The Temple. Baseline Press, 2018
The Temple (music by Zachary Wadsworth, words by Amanda Jernigan). ZRW Publishing, 2018
Lullaby (music by James Rolfe, words by Amanda Jernigan). Cypress Choral Music, 2016
Earth and Heaven: An Anthology of Myth Poetry (ed. Amanda Jernigan and Evan Jones). Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2015
Living in the Orchard: The Poetry of Peter Sanger. Frog Hollow Press, 2014
All the Daylight Hours: poems. Cormorant Books, 2013
Groundwork: poems. Biblioasis, 2011
The Essential Richard Outram (ed. Amanda Jernigan). Porcupine's Quill, 2011


New York Times 'Best Book' for Years, Months, and Days: poems, 2018
Hamilton Arts Award for Writing, 2015
National Post 'Best Book' for All the Daylight Hours: poems, 2014
Bryan Prince Bookseller Award for Poetry (Hamilton Arts Council) for Groundwork: poems, 2011
Shortlisted author, Pat Lowther Award for Groundwork: poems, 2011
National Public Radio 'Best Book' for Groundwork: poems, 2011
Arc Poetry Magazine Critic's Desk Award for Listening to Margaret Avison, 2010
Arc Poetry Magazine Confederation Poets Prize for Penelope in Heavy Weather, 2009
Eligible for National Public Readings Program :


Northern OAC WITS:
GST not applicable