Member Profile

Karleen Bradford

Karleen Bradford was born in Toronto, but spent most of her childhood in Argentina, returning to take a B.A. at the University of Toronto in 1959. That same year she married James Bradford, a foreign service officer with the Canadian government. She has spent the past 34 years living in various countries, which has provided "grist for the mill" in terms of settings and plots for her children's and young-adult novels, but now is happily home for good.

Phone number:


You Can't Rush a Cat. Orca Book Publishers, 2003.
With Nothing But Our Courage: The Loyalist Diary of Mary MacDonald. Scholastic Canada, Dear Canada Series, 2002.
Whisperings of Magic. HarperCollins Publishers, 2001.
Lionheart's Scribe. Toronto: HarperCollins Canada, 1999.
Dragonfire. Toronto: HarperCollins Canada, 1999.
Angeline. HarperCollins Canada, 2004
Ghost Wolf. Orca Book Publishers, 2005
The Scarlet Cross. HarperCollins Canada, 2006
Shadows on a Sword. HarperCollins Canada Ltd., 1996
There Will be Wolves. HarperCollins Canada Ltd., 1992
The Nine Days Queen. HarperCollins Canada Ltd., 2005, 1986
A Desperate Road to Freedom: The Underground Railroad Diary of Julia May Jackson. Scholastic Canada Ltd., 2010


Winner of the Canadian Library Association Young Adult Award for There Will be Wolves, 1993.
Winner of the Max and Greta Ebel Award for Windward Island, 1990.
Shortlisted, Silver Birch Award for Lionheart's Scribe, 2000.
Shortlisted, Manitoba Young Reader's Choice Award for Lionheart's Scribe, 2000.
Shortlisted, Manitoba Young Reader's Choice Award for Dragonfire, 2001.
Shortlisted for the MYRCA Award for Angeline, 2006
Winner of the Shining Willow Award for You Can't Rush a Cat, 2005
Nominated for the Stellar Award for Angeline, 2007
Honour Book for the Geoffrey Bilson Historical Award for Angeline, 2005
Honour Book for the Blue Spruce Award for You Can't Rush a Cat, 2004
Nominated for the IODE Violet Downey Award for Angeline, 2005
Nominated for the Ontario Library Association White Pine Award for Angeline, 2006
Eligible for National Public Readings Program :