Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood

Photo: Luis Mora

Margaret Atwood was born in Ottawa in 1939 and has degrees from the University of Toronto and Radcliffe College, and has lived in many places, including Vancouver, Montreal, Edmonton, Boston, England, Scotland, and France. She supported her word habit with many non-writing jobs in youth, but has been a full-time writer since 1972--fiction, screenplays, poetry, non-fiction--with short interludes of guest teaching here and there. She was chair of The Writers' Union in 1981-82, and president of PEN Canada in 1985 and 1986. She is currently working on a novel.

Prefer not to disclose


The Blind Assassin. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 2000.
Alias Grace. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1996.
Morning in the Burned House. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1995.
The Robber Bride. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1993.
Cat's Eye. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1989.
The Door. McClelland & Stewart, 2007
Moral Disorder. McClelland & Stewart, 2006
The Year of the Flood. McClelland & Stewart, 2009


Booker Prize for The Blind Assassin, 2000.
Giller Prize for Alias Grace, 1996.
City of Toronto Book Award for Cat's Eye, 1989.
Governor General's Award, for Fiction for The Handmaid's Tale, 1986.
Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, 2008
World Economic Forum Crystal Award, 2010
Eligible for National Public Readings Program: