The Writers’ Union of Canada and the Gleed family are pleased to announce the jury for the $10,000 Danuta Gleed Literary Award, Canada’s pre-eminent award for the best first Canadian collection of short fiction in the English language, now celebrating its 22nd year.

This year’s jury comprises authors Heather O’Neill, Ayelet Tsabari, and Richard Van Camp.

A short list will be announced in early-May 2019, with the winner and two finalists being named in June 2019, in conjunction with the The Writers’ Union of Canada’s OnWords Conference and Annual General Meeting. The winner receives $10,000 and each of the two finalists is awarded $500.

To be eligible, books must be first collections of short fiction written by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident and published in Canada in the English language in the 2018 calendar year. The deadline for submissions is January 31, 2019. Eligible titles may be submitted by publishers according to submission guidelines available at writersunion.ca/danuta-gleed-literary-award.


Heather O’Neill is a novelist, short-story writer, and essayist. Her work, which includes Lullabies for Little CriminalsThe Girl Who Was Saturday Night, Daydreams of Angels, and The Lonely Heart Hotel, has been shortlisted for the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction, the Orange Prize for Fiction, and the Scotiabank Giller Prize in two consecutive years, and has won CBC Canada Reads, the Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction, and the Danuta Gleed Literary Award. Born and raised in Montreal, O’Neill lives there today with her daughter.

Ayelet Tsabari was born in Israel to a large family of Yemeni descent. Her first book, The Best Place on Earth, won the Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature and the Edward Lewis Wallant Award, and was long listed for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. The book was a New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice, a Kirkus Reviews Best Book of 2016, and has been published internationally to great acclaim. Excerpts from her forthcoming book, The Art of Leaving (HarperCollins, 2019), have won a National Magazine Award and a Western Magazine Award.

Richard Van Camp is a Tlicho Dene writer from Fort Smith, N.W.T. who has written over 22 books across multiple genres. His graphic novel, A Blanket of Butterflies, was shortlisted for an Eisner Award and his children's book, Little You, illustrated by Julie Flett, was translated into Bush Cree, Plains Cree, South Slavey, and Chipewyan. Van Camp's seminal 1996 novel, The Lesser Blessed, was adapted into a feature film by First Generation Films. His other books include Angel Wing Splash PatternNight Moves, and We Sang You Home


The Danuta Gleed Literary Award was created as a celebration of the life of Danuta Gleed, a writer whose short fiction won several awards before her death in 1996. Danuta Gleed’s first collection of short fiction, One of the Chosen, was posthumously published by BuschekBooks. The Award is made possible through a generous donation from John Gleed in memory of his late wife, and is administered by The Writers’ Union of Canada.

The Award was first given in 1998 for books published in 1997. 


The Writers' Union of Canada is our country's national organization representing professional authors of books. Founded in 1973, the Union is dedicated to fostering writing in Canada and promoting the rights, freedoms, and economic well-being of all writers. 

– 30 –

For additional information:
Siobhan O’Connor, Associate Director
The Writers’ Union of Canada
416-703-8982 x 222

DATE: November 21, 2018