Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Connie Brummel Crook

Connie Brummel Crook

Connie Brummel Crook taught English in Ontario’s public secondary schools for thirty years.  She has two daughters and five grandchildren. Her first husband, Rev. Reginald Brown, died when their daughters were eleven months and two-and-a-half years old.  She married Albert Crook eight years later.  Since the beginning with Flight in 1991, eleven of her novels and three of her picture books have been published by national publishers.

Connie decided to write historical fiction in the hope of bringing to life our own Canadian heritage for students in the classroom.  Only one of her fifteen published books is out of print, and most have gone to several printings.  FlightMeyers’ Creek, and Meyers’ Rebellion, stories in her Meyers family saga, are going to electronic format as ebooks.  All her books are in public and school libraries and most of them are used in classrooms across Canada.

As a graduate of Norwood District High School, Connie Brummel Crook addressed the graduating class of 1998.  Her photo and biography were then added to their “hall of fame”.  On July 15, 2000, Connie was one of the honourable inductees for the year into Peterborough’s Pathway of Fame.  Her name, with the word “Literary” inscribed under it, was engraved on one of the stones lining a pathway in that city’s Del Crary Park.

On June 11, 2008, Connie received the Leslie K. Tarr Award for Outstanding Career Achievement.  This award, sponsored by The Word Guild and Tyndale University and Seminary, was presented at The Word Guild’s annual gala at World Vision Canada Headquarters in Mississauga.



The Hungry Year. Toronto: Stoddart Kids, Markham: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2001, 2005
Maple Moon. Toronto. Stoddart Kids. Markham: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1997.
The Nellie McClung trilogy: Nellie L., Nellie's Quest, Nellie's Victory. Toronto: Stoddart Kids. Markham: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1994, 1998, 1998, 2009
Laura Secord's Brave Walk. Toronto: Second Story Press, 2000.
The Meyers Saga: Flight, Meyers' Creek, Meyers' Rebellion. Toronto: Stoddart Publishing, Markham: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1991, 1995, 2007
Lune d'erable. Markham: Scholastic Canada, 2000
The Perilous Year. Markham: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2003
No Small Victory. Markham: Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2010
Mary's Way. Markham: Scholastic Canada, 2008


Shortlisted, Silver Birch Award for The Hungry Year, 2002.
Shortlisted, Violet Downey I.O.D.E. Book Award for Nellie's Victory, 2000.
Shortlisted, Geoffrey Bilson Historical Fiction Award for Nellie's Quest, 1998.
Shortlisted, Geoffrey Bilson Historical Fiction Award for Nellie L, 1995.
The following were on the Canadian Children's Book Centre Our Choice list: Nellie L. (1995/96), Nellie's Quest (1998), Maple Moon (starred in 1998), Laura Secord's Brave Walk (2001).The Hungry Year (2002). No Small Victory (2011).
World Guild Children's Novel Award for The Perilous Year, 2004
Canadian Children’s Book Centre’s Our Choice list for The Perilous Year, 2004
Tied for Children's Novel Award by The Word Guild for No Small Victory, 2011
International Reading Association's Storytelling World Awards for Maple Moon, 1998
Shortlisted IODE Violet Downey Awards for The Hungry Year, 2002
Novel Award World Guild for The Hungry Year, 2002
Novel Award by World Guild for Meyers' Rebellion, 2007
Top Five Finalists: Geoffrey Bilson Historical Fiction Award for Meyers' Rebellion, 2007
Eligible for National Public Readings Program: