Danuta Gleed Literary Award

The Danuta Gleed Literary Award was created as a celebration of the life of Danuta Gleed, a writer whose short fiction won several awards before her death in December 1996. Danuta Gleed’s first collection of short fiction, One of the Chosen, was posthumously published by BuschekBooks. The award is made possible through a generous donation from John Gleed, in memory of his late wife, and is administered by The Writers’ Union of Canada.

Each year, a $10,000 prize is awarded to a Canadian writer for the best first collection of published short fiction in the English language. Two finalists are also awarded $500 each.

Click here for detailed eligibility requirements and Submission Form.  

Completed submissions should be sent to:

Danuta Gleed Literary Award
The Writers’ Union of Canada
600-460 Richmond St W
Toronto, ON  M5V 1Y1

The deadline for submissions is January 31, 2020.

Danuta Gleed Literary Award Winners