Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Daphne Marlatt

Daphne Marlatt

Daphne Marlatt lives in Vancouver, British Columbia. She was born in 1942 in Melbourne, Australia, and immigrated to Canada in 1951 from Malaysia. She studied writing and English at the University of British Columbia (B.A., 1964), and comparative literature at Indiana University (M.A., 1968). She is a poet, novelist, theorist, Noh playwright, and retired university instructor (creative writing, women's studies, and contemporary literature). She is the founding co-editor of Tessera, the bilingual journal of feminist theory, and has co-edited several other magazines. Since the 1980s, she has served as writer-in-residence at numerous universities across Canada and mentored at Sage Hill (Saskatchewan) and the Banff Centre for the Arts, Writing Studio.



Ana Historic. Toronto: House of Anansi, 1997; Anansi A List 2013; 1st edition, Coach House Press, 1988; French edition. trans. Lori Saint-Martin, Paul Gagné. Montreal: Remue-ménage, 1992, 2013 introduction by Lynn Crosbie
Taken. Toronto: House of Anansi, 1996.
Steveston. Ronsdale Press, 2001
The Given. McClelland and Stewart, 2008
Readings from the Labyrinth. NeWest Press, 1998
This Tremor Love Is. Talonbooks, 2001
The Gull (bilingual edition English-Japanese edition). Talonbooks, introduction by Richard Emmert, 2009
Liquidities: Vancouver Poems Then and Now. Talonbooks, 2013
Rivering: The Poetry of Daphne Marlatt, ed. Susan Knutson. Wilfred Laurier University Press, 2014, introduction by Susan Knutson
Net Work: Selected Writing, ed. Fred Wah. Talonbooks, 1980
Intertidal: The Collected Earlier Poems, 1968-2008 edited by Susan Holbrook. Talonbooks, 2017
Reading Sveva. Talonbooks, 2016
Then Now. Talonbooks, 2021


Member of the Order of Canada, 2006
D.Litt., Doctor of Letters, University of Western Ontario, 1996
DHumL., Doctor of Humane Letters, Mount Saint Vincent University, 2004
Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize (B.C. Book Prize) for The Given, 2009
Uchimura Naoya Prize for The Gull, 2008
George Woodcock Lifetime Achievement Award, 2012
Eligible for National Public Readings Program:


poetry, fiction, essay