Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Edeet Ravel

Edeet Ravel

Edeet is the author of an acclaimed trilogy on the Palestinian-Israeli conflict. Ten Thousand Lovers was translated into several languages and was the recipient of many literary distinctions, including a nomination for the Governor General’s Award. Look For Me won the Hugh MacLennan Prize, and A Wall of Light was a finalist for the Giller Award and the Regional Commonwealth Prize, and won the Jewish Book Award of Canada and the I. J. Segal Award.

Edeet’s novel about children of survivors growing up in Montreal of the Sixties, Your Sad Eyes and Unforgettable Mouth, was selected for the "Globe 100" list of top books of the year. Edeet’s writing for young readers has garnered numerous honours; her most recent YA novel, Held, has been nominated for the CLA Young Adult Book of the Year, the Saskatchewan Willow Award, the Pennsylvania School Librarians Association Top Forty, and the Arthur Ellis Crime Award. Her YA novel The Saver has been adapted for film by Wiebke von Carolsfeld. The film has received awards from around the globe.

Edeet was born on an Israeli kibbutz and holds a PhD in Jewish Studies from McGill University. She taught for twenty years at McGill, Concordia University and John Abbott College. Edeet now lives in Guelph, Ontario. Her name is pronounced ee-DEET.  : )



A Wall of Light. Random House Canada, 2005.
Look for Me. Random House Canada, 2004.
Ten Thousand Lovers. Headline, 2003.
Your Sad Eyes and Unforgettable Mouth. Penguin, 2008
The Saver. Groundwood, 2008
Held. Annick, 2010
The Last Rain. Penguin, 2010
The Cat. Penguin, 2012
What Became of Her. Four Mills, 2017


Norma Epstein National Fiction Award for Lovers, A Midrash.
Finalist, Governor General’s Award for Ten Thousand Lovers.
Finalist, Koret Jewish Book Award for Ten Thousand Lovers.
Finalist, Quebec Writers Federation Award for Ten Thousand Lovers.
Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction for Look for Me.
Canadian Jewish Book Award, 2006
Finalist, Giller Prize for A Wall of Light, 2005
Finalist, Regional Commonwealth Prize for A Wall of Light, 2005
Eligible for National Public Readings Program: