Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Ian Williams

Photo: John Jones 2012

Ian Williams is a poet and fiction writer. He is the author of Reproduction  (novel, Random House, 2019), Personals (poetry, Freehand, 2012), Not Anyone's Anything (stories, Freehand, 2011), and You Know Who You Are (poems, Wolsak and Wynn, 2010).

He is the winner of the 2011 Danuta Gleed Literary Award for the best first English-language collection of short fiction, a finalist for the Griffin Poetry Prize, the Robert Kroetsch Poetry Book Award and the ReLit Prize for poetry. CBC named him as one of ten Canadian writers to watch. His a Griffin Prize trustee.

Williams completed his Ph.D. in English at the University of Toronto and teaches in the Creative Writing program at the University of British Columbia. He was the 2014-2015 Canadian Writer-in-Residence at the Calgary Distinguished Writers' Program based at the University of Calgary.

E-mail: c/o Writers' Union of Canada
Phone number:
c/o Writers' Union of Canada


Reproduction. Random House, 2019
Personals. Freehand, 2012
Not Anyone's Anything. Freehand, 2011
You Know Who You Are. Wolsak & Wynn, 2010


Griffin Poetry Prize Finalist for Personals, 2013
Robert Kroetsch Poetry Book Award (finalist) for Personals, 2013
The Danuta Gleed Literary Award for Not Anyone's Anything, 2012
ReLit Award for Poetry (finalist) for You Know Who You Are, Personals, 2011, 2013
10 Canadian Writers to Watch, CBC, 2012
CBC Literary Awards for Poetry (finalist), 2011
Malahat Long Poem Prize (finalist) for "Rings", 2011
Eligible for National Public Readings Program :