Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Louise Abbott

Louise Abbott

Louise Abbott, a McGill graduate, is a professional writer, photographer, and filmmaker. She has devoted most of her career to documenting the history and contemporary life of rural and indigenous communities, particularly in Quebec and Newfoundland, and has investigated environmental issues that affect those communities. She is the author of seven books and has directed several documentary films, including Nunaaluk: A Forgotten Story (2014). Her latest book, Memphremagog: An Illustrated History (Volume 2), was published in 2017.

Prefer not to disclose


The Coast Way: A Portrait of the English on the Lower North Shore of the St. Lawrence. Montreal, Quebec: McGill-Queen's University Press, 1988.
The French Shore: Newfoundland's Port-au-Port Peninsula. Calgary, Alberta: Folio Gallery, Inc., 1996
The Heart of the Farm. Price-Patterson, 2008
Eeyou Istchee: Land of the Cree. COTA, 2010
Memphremagog: An Illustrated History (Volume 1). Georgeville Press, 2014
Memphremagog: An Illustrated History (Volume 2). Georgeville Press, 2017


Finalist, QSPELL Award, non-fiction for The Coast Way, 1989
Best Documentary (science, environment, technology), Hot Docs! for Le Filet vide/The Empty Net (Louise Abbott: Scriptwriter), 1996.
Toronto; Special Jury Prize, Images de la Mer for Le Filet vide/The Empty Net (Louise Abbott: Scriptwriter), 1996.
La Rochelle, France: and Best Public Affairs Documentary, Yorkton Film Festival for Le Filet vide/The Empty Net (Louise Abbott: Scriptwriter), 1996.
Finalist, Prix Gemeaux for best research, public affairs programming. for Le Filet vide/The Empty Net (Louise Abbott: Scriptwriter), 1996
Norman Kucharsky Award for Cultural and Artistic Journalism, PWAC for The (Montreal) Gazette, 2002
Grants from Bélanger-Gardner Foundation, Bishop's University for Two documentary films, 2003, 2017
Grants from Townshippers' Research and Cultural Foundation for Three documentary films and The Heart of the Farm, 2003, 2007, 2009, 2018
Best Film by an Established Filmmaker (Jasper Short Film Festival) for Nunaaluk: A Forgotten Story, 2014
Finalist, Best Documentary Short Award, American Indian Film Festival, San Francisco for Nunaaluk: A Forgotten Story, 2014
Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec Grant for Three short documentaries (Louise Abbott: Director, Scriptwriter), 2018
Eligible for National Public Readings Program: