Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Nino Ricci

Photo: Virginia de Vasconcelos 2014

Born in Leamington, Ontario to parents from the Molise region of Italy, Nino Ricci completed studies at York University in Toronto, at Concordia University in Montreal, and at the University of Florence, and has taught extensively both in Canada and abroad, including two years at a secondary school in Nigeria with CUSO. In addition to taking part in workshops across the country and serving as an instructor at the Humber School for Writers since 1991, he has been writer-in-residence at the North York Public Library, the Kitchener Public Library, the University of Windsor, and the University of Toronto Scarborough, and has held the Mariano Elia Chair at York University, the Chair in Religion and the Arts at Assumption University, the G. M. Hopkins Chair in Literary Studies at John Carroll University, the inaugural Killam Visting Professorship in Canadian Studies
 at Bridgewater State University, the Maclean Distinguished Visiting Professorship at Colorado College, and the L.G. Pathy Visiting Professorship in Canadian Studies at Princeton University. He is also a past president of PEN Canada.

Ricci's first novel, Lives of the Saints, garnered international acclaim, appearing in seventeen countries and winning a host of awards, including the Governor General's Award for Fiction. It formed the first volume of a trilogy that was completed by In A Glass House and Where She Has Gone. The Lives of the Saints trilogy was adapted as a miniseries starring Sophia Loren and Kris Kristofferson. Ricci is also the author of the novels Testament, winner of the Trillium Award, and The Origin of Species, winner of another Governor General's Award, and of the biography Pierre Elliott Trudeau, part of Penguin Canada’s Extraordinary Canadians series. His novel Sleep was published in 2015 and was the winner of Canadian Authors Association Fiction Award and a national bestseller. 

E-mail: c/o Writers' Union of Canada
Phone number:
c/o Writers' Union of Canada


Lives of the Saints. Dunvegan, Ontario: Cormorant Books, 1990.
In a Glass House. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1993.
Where She Has Gone. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1997
Testament. Doubleday Canada: Toronto, 2002
The Origin of Species. Doubleday Canada, 2008
Pierre Elliott Trudeau. Penguin Canada, 2009
Sleep. Doubleday Canada, 2015


F.G. Bressani Prize for Prose for Lives of the Saints, 1990
W.H. Smith/Books in Canada First Novel Award for Lives of the Saints, 1990
Governor General's Award for Fiction for Lives of the Saints, 1990
Winifred Holtby Prize for Best Regional Novel, U.K. for Lives of the Saints, 1991
Betty Trask Award for Fiction, U.K. for Lives of the Saints, 1991
Shortlist, Los Angeles Times Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction for Lives of the Saints, 1991
Shortlist, Giller Prize for Fiction for Where She Has Gone, 1997
Trillium Book Award for Testament, 2002
Calliope Award for Writing and Mentoring, Humber School for Writers, 2002
President's Award, Leonardo da Vinci Academy, 2003
Alistair MacLeod Award for Literary Achievement, 2006
Canadian Authors Association/MOSAID Technologies Fiction Award for The Origin of Species, 2008
Governor General’s Award for Fiction for The Origin of Species, 2008
Pinnacle Achievement Award, York University, 2010
Member of the Order of Canada, 2011
Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award for a Writer in Mid-Career, 2012
Doctor of Laws, Honoris Causa, University of Windsor, 2012
Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal, 2012
Canadian Authors Association Fiction Award for Sleep, 2016
Eligible for National Public Readings Program :


Northern OAC WITS:
GST not applicable