Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

William Deverell

Born in Regina in 1937, William Deverell began his writing career as a journalist, working for several newspapers across Canada and for the Canadian Press in Montreal while studying for his law degree. He has practiced law in Vancouver and Victoria. He is also the former president of the B.C. Civil Liberties Association. His books have been published in Canada, the U.S., and the U.K., and translated into numerous foreign languages. He has written five screenplays and created the CBC-TV series Street Legal.

E-mail: c/o Writers' Union of Canada
Phone number:


Street Legal: The Betrayal. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1995.
Kill All the Lawyers. Toronto: Random House of Canada, 1993.
Fatal Cruise: The Trial of Robert Frisbee. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1990.
Mindfield. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1989.
Platinum Blues. Toronto: McClelland & Stewart, 1987.


Periodical Distributors of Canada Book of the Year, 1981.
Seal First Novel Award, 1979.
Eligible for National Public Readings Program :


Northern OAC WITS:
GST not applicable