Member Profile

Please note: All profiles are member-generated.

Carmelo Militano

Photo: Vera Paletta 2013

Carmelo Militano began his writing career as a free-lance journalist and broadcaster for CBC Radio One in Winnipeg.

Carmelo Militano currenty is a poet, writer, editor, teacher, and radio broadcaster.

He is the winner of the F.G. Bressani award for poetry, (2004) for the collection 'Ariadne's Thread.' His prose work 'The Fate of Olives' was short-listed for a literary prize in two different years,( Manitoba First Book Award, 2007, * F.G.Bressani award for non-fiction, 2008). His poetry collection 'Weather Reports was short-listed again for the Bressani poetry award in 2012.

Militano's poetry, fiction, and non-ficion explores the intersection and meeting of a dual consciousnes -Italian & English Canadian- in History, classical myth, family, idenity and the erotic.

 Carmelo Militano also hosts a weekly poetry show at CKUW FM 95.9 ( Winnipeg), called the P.I.New Poetry Show, where he inteviews poets and writers. Podcasts can be found at Programs and Archives, CKUW, P.I. New Poetry Show.

His poems, fiction, reviews and essays, and literary interviews have been published in a wide range of publications: Accenti, CV2,Italian Canadiana,La Macchina Sognante(Italy), Lemon Hound, Northern Poetry Review, Quebec Poetry Review, Sangara(Italy), The Lonely Offices, The Pacific Rim Review of Books, The Toronto Quarterly, PopMatters, and Prairie Fire.

Militano is also a member of the League of Canadian Poets and The National Book Critics Circle( USA).

Phone number:
c/o Writers' Union of Canada


Lost Aria, short story collection. Ekstasis Editions, 2018
The Stone Mason's Notebook ( poetry). Ekstasis Editions, 2016
Morning After You ( Poetry). Ekstasis Editions, 2014
Sebastiano's Vine ( novel). Ekstasis Editions, 2013
Weather Reports, poetry chapbook. Olive Press, 2012
Feast Days ( poetry). Olive Press, 2010
The Fate of Olives ( non-fiction, travelogue). Olive Press, 2006
Ariadne's Thread ( poetry). Olive Press, 2004


F.G. Bressani Award for poetry for Ariadne's Thread, 2004
short-listed Eileen McTavis Skyes Award ( prose), for The Fate of Olives, 2007
short-listed F.G. Bressani Award for poetry for Weather Reports, 2012
short-listed Margaret Laurence Fiction Prize for Sebastiano's Vine, 2014
short-listed Margaret Laurence Fiction Prize for Lost Aria, 2019
Eligible for National Public Readings Program :


Northern OAC WITS: